Southwest Medical University

Home Schools 2019-08-31

Southwest Medical University

Southwest Medical University is an ordinary university in Sichuan Province. It is located in Luzhou, a famous historical and cultural city and a civilized city in the region of Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou and Chongqing. The school was founded in 1951, formerly Southwest Sichuan Medical School, upgraded to Luzhou Medical College in 1959, upgraded to Luzhou Medical College in 1978 and renamed Luzhou Medical College in 2015, and was awarded bachelor's degree in 1982, became a master's degree awarding unit in 1993, and jointly started in 2001. To train doctoral students, we started to carry out diploma education for overseas undergraduates in 2004. In 2010, we were allowed to set up postdoctoral research workstation, which was renamed Southwest Medical University in 2015. The school is a qualified unit to recommend excellent undergraduate graduates to study for master's degree without examination. It is a demonstration school of running schools according to law in Sichuan Province, a civilized campus in Sichuan Province and an informationized Demonstration School of higher education in Sichuan Province. In 2014, the school was included in the construction plan of newly added doctoral degree awarding units in Sichuan Province, and in 2016, it was included in the construction plan of newly added doctoral degree awarding units.

The school has two campuses, Zhongshan and Chengbei, covering an area of 2011 mu. There are 20164 college-based students, graduate students, foreign students and other students, and 1147 full-time teachers, including 516 senior professional titles, 475 doctoral degree personnel, 35 doctoral supervisors and 792 master's supervisors. There are 70 high-level talents with lecture professors of "Yangtze River Scholars", first and second level candidates of national "Millions of Talents Project", "Excellent Talents Support Plan for the New Century", "Hundred Persons Plan", "Thousand Persons Plan", "Special Allowance Expert of the State Council Government" and "Sichuan Academic and Technological Leader".

The school mainly focuses on medicine, covering seven disciplines, such as science, engineering, management, education, literature and law. It has seven authorization points for first-level disciplines of master's degree, nine authorization points for master's professional degree and 30 general undergraduate majors, including three specialties with national characteristics, 14 first batch of enrollment majors and provincial application-oriented demonstration colleges. Five professions and five double degree majors. Currently, there are 6 key disciplines (cultivation) in Sichuan Province and 2 first-class construction disciplines in Sichuan Province. Clinical medicine is the top 1% of ESI disciplines in the world. The school undertook five national-level personnel training reform projects, such as "the first batch of reform of training mode for Postgraduates of clinical medicine master's degree" of the Ministry of Education. It is the first demonstration practice teaching base of the outstanding legal personnel education and training program in Sichuan Province. Since 2011, our university has won the first prize, the first prize six times, the second prize three times and the third prize four times in the national final. The first employment rate of graduates has remained above 90% for 10 consecutive years, and the passing rate of national qualification examination and judicial examination for licensed doctors is higher than the national average. In the past three sessions, 15 provincial teaching achievement awards were awarded, including 5 first-class awards.

The school has 25 provincial and ministerial key research platforms, 4 academician workstations, 1 provincial university science and technology park, 35 provincial and departmental research teams and 4 provincial key research platforms, such as the Key Laboratory of the Ministry of Education, the national post-doctoral research workstation, the national drug clinical trial institution (GCP), the Key Laboratory of the Sichuan Science and Technology Department, and the provincial academicial academician workstation. Sichuan 2011 "cardiovascular disease prevention and control collaborative innovation center" lead unit.

The school has continuously strengthened foreign exchanges and cooperation, and has established foreign cooperation and exchanges with 22 countries and regions such as the United States, Britain and Australia. International academic conferences such as "China Wine City International High-end Forum on Cardiovascular Research" and "High-end Seminar on Oncology Medicine" were held. It has trained nearly 500 postdoctoral, postgraduate and undergraduate students in India, Bangladesh and Pakistan, and participated in the "one belt and one road" construction through scientific research and personnel training.

There are 3 affiliated hospitals directly under the school. There are 35 key medical specialties or disciplines at the national and provincial levels. They are the national "chest pain center", "comprehensive stroke center", "heart failure center" and "Sichuan gynecological and breast disease treatment center". They are the training base for coronary heart disease intervention of the State Health Planning Commission and the country and region of China-Portuguese language family. As a provincial medical center in the four provinces (cities) of Southwest China, the International Cooperation Base of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) escorts the health of nearly 40 million people in the Sichuan-Chongqing-Yunnan-Guizhou junction.

(Note: The statistical deadline for the above data is March 2019)