Historical evolution of Meishan

Home Other 2020-12-18

Historical evolution of Meishan

The establishment of Meishan government began in the third year of Jianwu (496) of the Southern Qi Dynasty. Qitongzuo county was built in the south of Wuyang County, Qianwei county. In the ordinary period of Nanliang (520-527), qitongzuo county was renamed as Qitong County, and Qitong county was established with the same county.

In the second year of the Taiqing Dynasty (548), Qingzhou was set up, and Qitong county was governed by the state.

In 553, Qingzhou was changed to Meizhou, governing Qitong county and Qingcheng county.

In 558, the second year of Ming emperor of the Northern Zhou Dynasty, Qitong county was abolished and Anle county was established. Today, Dongpo town is still under Meizhou. In the first year of Jiande (572), Meizhou was changed into Qingzhou. In the first year of Dacheng (579), Qingzhou was changed into Jiazhou.

Sui kaihuang three years (583 years), the abolition of the state. In the second year of Daye (606), Jiazhou was changed to Meizhou, and Tongyi county (today's Dongpo town) was moved. After the withdrawal of the state to build Meishan County, the county governs Longyou, which is now the Shizhong District of Leshan City.

In 618, Meishan County was changed to Jiazhou. In the next year, Meizhou was divided from Jiazhou into five counties, namely Tongyi, Danling, Hongya, Nan'an (now Jiajiang) and Qingshen, belonging to Jiannan road and governed by Tongyi county. In the first year of Tianbao (742), Meizhou was abolished and Tongyi county was established. In the first year of Qianyuan (758), Tongyi county was abolished and Meizhou was restored, belonging to Xichuan, Jiannan road.

In the first year of Taiping Xingguo in Song Dynasty (976), Tongyi county was renamed Meishan County, belonging to Meizhou, Xichuan road. State led Meishan, Pengshan, Danling, Qingshen four counties.

In 1277, Meizhou belonged to Jiading road. In the past 20 years, Meishan County was abolished and governed by the state. At the same time, Danling county was incorporated into Meizhou.

In 1376, Meizhou was reduced to Meixian County under the jurisdiction of Jiading Prefecture. The next year, Pengshan and Danling were merged into Meixian County, and Qingshen was merged into Jiazhou. In the 13th year, Meixian County was promoted to Meizhou, which was directly under the administrative department of Sichuan Province. Meishan County was still governed by the prefecture, leading three counties: Danling, Pengshan and Qingshen.

In the second year of the Republic of China (1913), Meizhou was abolished and Meishan County was restored. The next year, it belonged to Jianchang road. From 1928 to 1929, Daoism was abolished. In 1935, the fourth administrative supervision district of Sichuan Province was established. Meishan County seat was set up in the office of the Commissioner, which governs 10 counties including Meishan, Pengshan, Danling, Qingshen, Jiajiang, Hongya, Dayi, Qionglai, Pujiang and Mingshan.

After liberation, in January 1950, Meishan district was set up, and Meishan County was set up in the office of the Commissioner. It belongs to the Western Sichuan administrative office and governs 10 counties, which is the same as the fourth administrative supervision area before liberation. After that, Dayi was divided into Xinjin. Meishan district was abolished on March 5, 1953, and Meishan County was put under the jurisdiction of Leshan district. In 1959, Pengshan, Qingshen and Meishan were merged into one county, called Meishan County. In November 1962, the two counties resumed the county system. In 1968, Meishan County was located in Leshan District, and in 1985, it was under the jurisdiction of Leshan City.

In August 1997, Meishan district was established and Meishan County was changed to be under the jurisdiction of Meishan district.

In December 2000, the original Meishan County was changed to Dongpo District.

In October 2014, the State Council agreed to abolish Pengshan County and establish Pengshan District of Meishan City. The former administrative area of Pengshan County is the administrative region of Pengshan district. The people's Government of Pengshan district is located at No. 98, West Street, Fengming town.