Diexi earthquake site
Diexi earthquake site is located 2.5 km southeast of Jiaochang Township, Maoxian County, on the second grade platform on the East Bank of Minjiang River
According to the literature, Diexi was Canling County in Han Dynasty, Jizhou County in early Tang Dynasty, Qianhu office in Diexi County in Ming Dynasty, changed to Wei in Qing Dynasty, and was subordinate to Mao County in the Republic of China. Diexi city was built in Zhenguan. In the 11th year of Hongwu reign of the Ming Dynasty, Ding Yu, the official of the imperial envoy, asked Tong Shengfu to build the city. It's one foot high, three hundred feet around, and four doors. It was rebuilt in Chenghua Diexi city is the important military town as well as the distribution center of shangliu. On August 25, 1933, a strong earthquake of magnitude 7.5 occurred here. The mountains and the earth cracked, the platform subsided, and the ancient city sank, killing more than 3000 soldiers and civilians in the city. After the earthquake, only one corner of the East Gate urn city was left in the ancient city, and a section of stone lion, stone rolling, stone stele and stone jar were found in the south wall. The site is still well preserved and has become the only well preserved ancient ruins destroyed by earthquake in the world. It is an important site for the International Seismological community to study earthquakes. State level cultural relics protection units.